Skip to content ↓

Important Admission Dates for September 2022

Important dates

Date Activity/action required
Wednesday 1 September 2021 Online applications open
September/October 2021 Open days and evenings at Hackney secondary schools
Monday 27 September 2021 to Friday 15 October 2021 Cognitive ability tests for children attending Hackney primary schools
Friday 22 October 2021 Closing date (please apply by this date)
Sunday 31 October 2021 Statutory closing date
Saturday 20 November 2021 and Saturday 27 November 2021 Cognitive ability tests for children attending primary schools outside Hackney
Thursday 9 December 2021 Last date to:
explain why your application was late
request changes to your application submitted on time
provide evidence of a change of address
Tuesday 1 March 2022 National Offer Day
Tuesday 15 March 2022 Last date to respond to your offer
September 2022 Children start secondary school

Late applications

The deadline to apply is 31 October 2021. If your application is submitted after this date, it will be considered late unless exceptional reasons prevented you from applying on time. For example:

  • you are a single parent and have been seriously ill for an extended period
  • a member of your immediate family has died
  • your family has recently moved into the area or has just returned from abroad (in this case we'll also need to see proof of ownership or tenancy of a property within Hackney as well as a utility bill)

The last date that exceptional reasons can be considered and agreed is Thursday 9 December 2021. After this date your application will be late regardless of the circumstances and will only be considered after all applications that were sent in on time have been dealt with. This is most likely to be after 1 March 2022, but you may still receive a letter telling you the outcome of your application on this date.

Contacts Admissions and Pupil Benefits Team

Telephone

020 8820 7000

Email

admissions@hackney.gov.uk